How do I prove insanity?

A party may obtain an absolute divorce against the other if the other is declared insane.

A divorce based on the ground of insanity is possible if:  (1) the court finds that the spouse
has been confined in a mental institution, hospital, or other similar institution for at
least three years before the filing of the complaint for divorce, (2) the court
determines from the testimony of at least two physicians who are competent in
psychiatry that the insanity is incurable and that there is no hope of recovery,
and (3) one of the parties has resided in Maryland for at least two years before
the filing of the complaint for divorce.

Divorces based on this ground are extremely rare.

About patrickcrawfordlaw
Welcome to the Law Office of Patrick Crawford. My practice focuses on providing experienced and high quality legal services in the area of family law, including cases involving divorce, child custody, child support, paternity, adoption, and domestic violence. My office is located in Annapolis, Maryland, and I handle many of my cases in the courts of Anne Arundel County. In addition, I handle matters in the courts of Howard County, Baltimore County, Prince George's County, and throughout Maryland. My practice is small, therefore, I can provide highly attentive and personalized services to my clients. Client satisfaction is my highest priority. Please contact me at (410) 216-7905 to arrange a free consultation

One Response to How do I prove insanity?

  1. Pingback: How Do I Prove Adultery to Get Out of this Marriage Now? « Patrick Crawford Divorce Law Firm Annapolis Maryland

Leave a comment