How do I prove excessively vicious conduct or cruelty of treatment?

Cruelty of treatment and excessively vicious conduct are two
distinct grounds for divorce, however, they mean essentially the
same thing.  As a result, they are often listed together.

A limited divorce is available on these grounds, however, cruelty of treatment and
excessively vicious conduct are rare.  The typical poor treatment of which
spouses commonly accuse each other as a marriage disintegrates rarely arises to
a level sufficient to prove these grounds in court.  Typically such grounds
require substantially more than disagreements, emotional isolation, arguments,
shouting, and even an occasional incident of physical violence.  These grounds
generally require a condition that is closer to routine and deliberate mental or
physical torture by one spouse against the other or against a minor child of the
complaining party.

In addition to a limited divorce, these grounds also serve as
grounds for an absolute divorce.  In order to obtain an absolute divorce
on these grounds, in addition to the above, a party must also show that
there is no reasonable hope or expectation that the parties will reconcile.

About patrickcrawfordlaw
Welcome to the Law Office of Patrick Crawford. My practice focuses on providing experienced and high quality legal services in the area of family law, including cases involving divorce, child custody, child support, paternity, adoption, and domestic violence. My office is located in Annapolis, Maryland, and I handle many of my cases in the courts of Anne Arundel County. In addition, I handle matters in the courts of Howard County, Baltimore County, Prince George's County, and throughout Maryland. My practice is small, therefore, I can provide highly attentive and personalized services to my clients. Client satisfaction is my highest priority. Please contact me at (410) 216-7905 to arrange a free consultation

One Response to How do I prove excessively vicious conduct or cruelty of treatment?

  1. Pingback: How Do I Prove Adultery to Get Out of this Marriage Now? « Patrick Crawford Divorce Law Firm Annapolis Maryland

Leave a comment